644 Terrorists Surrendered In Assam

Today is a very important day for the history of Assam. A total of 644 terrorists from eight terror groups surrendered in front of Assam Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal on Thursday.

Among those who surrendered, include 50 terrorists from ULFA (Independence), 8 National Democratic Front of Bodoland, 178 from Adivashi Dragon Fighter.

All these eight banned organizations surrendered in Guwahati, Assam. The eight banned organisations are:

  • United Liberation Front Assam (ULFA)
  • National Democratic Front of Boroland (NDFB)
  • Rabha National Liberation Front (RNLF)
  • Kamatapur Liberation Organization (KLO)
  • CPI (Maoist)
  • National Liberation Front Of Bengali (NLFB).
  • National Santhal Liberation Army (NSLA)
  • Adivashi Dragon Fighter (ADF)

On the surrender, state Director General of Police (DGP) Bhaskar Jyoti Mahanta said that it is a historic day for the state and Assam Police. The surrender was done in the presence of Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and It was one of the largest surrender of terrorists in the recent times, the DGP informed.

“Our Govt will take all Constitutional responsibilities for reinstation of the surrendered militants. Schemes like Swabalamban are providing help to many former militants. We will offer all possible support so that they can avail benefits of Govt schemes,” Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal said.

“With the support of the people, we are firmly moving towards a terrorism-free Assam. I welcome all the cadres who have joined the mainstream,” Assam CM said.

Facebook Comments
DMCA.com Protection Status