Bill to divide J&K in two parts, passed by Rajyasabha

The bill to divide Jammu & kashmir into two parts has been passed by Rajyasabha. Now Jammu & Kashmir has been divide into two Union Territories named as Jammu & kashmir UT and Ladakh UT. In the 242-member Rajya Sabha, the ruling National Democratic Alliance(NDA) has only 107 members but 121 votes requires for majority mark.

Due to several opposition parties walking out, bringing down the majority mark for NDA and The Jammu & Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019 has been passed by Rajyasabha. The resolution was passed through a voice vote – 125 members voted in its favour and 61 voted against it.

NDA got the support of Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jagan Reddy’s YSR Congress, N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party and in a surprise addition — Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party in Rajysabha.

Trinmool Congress with 13 members & BJP ally Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United with 6 members bycotted the voting.

Samajwadi Party, DMK, Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Left parties opposed this bill in Rajyasabha.

Also Read: List of Political Parties which supported and opposed the removal of Article 370

Facebook Comments Protection Status