Govt To Commission One Nuclear Reactor Every Year

Central Government of India is set to commission one Nuclear reactor every year to boost the commercial use of Atomic Energy. This plan was announced by senior official of the Department of Atomic Energy (DEA) Shrikrishna Gupta.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh said on Tuesday that there is a possibility that the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) will commission the third unit of the Kakrapar nuclear power reactor in April, 2020.¬†Jitendra Singh, Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office, told reporters that DAE will now start one nuclear reactor every year.¬†

The capacity of third unit of Kakrapar Atomic Power Station (KAPS) is 700 MW which will be commissioned in April 2020. After this, Kakrapar-4 nuclear reactor will be commissioned in the middle of 2021. Then RAPP-7 nuclear reactor in Rajasthan’s Rawatbhata will be commissioned in middle of 2022.

Currently, India has total 22 Nuclear reactors which are operational under the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL). Total Capacity of all 22 Nuclear reactors are 6780 MW.

DAE official said, “India’s Kaiga-1 nuclear reactor has completed 962 days of continuous and uninterrupted operation which is a world record. Also, Tarapur atomic power reactors 1 and 2 have completed 50 years in operation.”

Facebook Comments Protection Status