India voted against Israel & supported Palestine in UN

Following the old tradition, Once again India supported the resolution concerning the “The Right of the Palestinian people to self-determination” and voted against the Israel. 164 countries including India voted in favor of Palestine. Only Israel, USA, Nauru, Micronesia and Marshall Islands voted against the proposal and Supported the Israel.

At the same time, 9 countries including Australia, Guentamala, Cameron, Honduras, Togo, Tonga, Kiribati, Vanuatu and Rwanda abstained from voting.

This proposal was brought by North Korea, Egypt, Nicaragua, Zimbabwe and Palestine. The motion was voted on 19 November.

USA supported Israel after 4 decades :

The vote was made a day after the US changed its policy regarding Israeli settlements in the disputed Palestine region.

The US changed its four decade old foreign policy on the occupied West Bank. According to international law, settlements made by Israel in the West Bank are illegal but Israel does not believe so. Two days ago, the US also supported Israel’s stand and voted in support of Israel after 40 years.

Why does India support Palestine?

According to the Indian Foreign Ministry, India’s support to Palestine is an integral part of its foreign policy. In 1974, India was the first non-Arab country to recognise the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO). India was also one of the leading countries to recognise Palestine in 1988. After this, in 1996, India also opened its Representative Office in Gaza, which was shifted to Ramallah in 2003.

India has always supported Palestine on all forums. During the 53rd session of the General Assembly of the United Nations, India voted in favour of “The Right of the Palestinian people to self-determination”. In October 2003, India voted against the Israel in the UN resolution for the construction of a wall. In 2011, India also Supported for making Palestine a full member of UNESCO.

India also voted in favour of making Palestine a non-member observer country (without voting rights) in the UNGA on 29 November 2012.

Facebook Comments Protection Status