List of people who signed Ajmal Kasab’s mercy petition

There were total 203 people who had filed mercy petition for 26/11 terrorist Ajmal Kasab to President Pranab Mukherjee, who rejected the mercy petition.

According to Indian Express Report, Mumbai-based lawyer Yug Chaudhry had written to the President on October 28, 212 and sought public support for his petition.

Yug Chaudhry stated in his letter to president, “This petition has been endorsed by 203 citizens of India. I would therefore request you on behalf of all those citizens who have endorsed this mercy petition to exercise your prerogative of mercy in favour of Md. Ajmal Kasab and commute his death sentence to one of life imprisonment.”

Professors of reputed educational institutes like London School and Economics, the Tata Institute of Social Sciences, School of African and Asian Studies, Delhi University and Jadavpur University, had signed this mercy petition too.

According to Indian Express report, ┬álist of signatories who opposed Kasab’s execution includes Kasab’s defence lawyers Amin Solkar and Abbas Kazmi, Gautam Babbar of the United Nations, senior lawyer Collin Gonsalves, writers Mahasveta Devi and Naresh Fernandes, actors Nandita Das and Aamir Bashir, retired Director of the National Police Academy Shankar Sen, film-maker Anusha Rizvi and senior journalists.

You can see the list here.

Also read: List of people signed mercy petition for Afzal guru

Also Read: List of people who signed mercy petition for yakub memon

Facebook Comments Protection Status