List of Political Parties which supported and opposed the removal of Article 370

On Monday, the central government has removed of Article 370, which gave special status to Jammu and Kashmir, is getting all-round reactions. While the people of the ruling party are calling it a bold and historic decision, the people of the opposition are calling it an attack on democracy and a black day for the country. While some opposition parties have also supported this move of the government while some parties have opposed this.

Parties supported the removal of Article 370:

  1. BJP (Bhartiya Janta Party)
  2. BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party), Uttar Pradesh
  3. AIADMK (TamilNadu)
  4. YSRCP (Andhra Pradesh)
  5. BJD (Odisha)
  6. Shiv Sena (Maharashtra)
  7. TRS ( Telangana)
  8. TDP (Andhra Pradesh)
  9. INLD (Haryana)
  10. AAP (Delhi)
  11. Akali Dal (Punjab)

BJD (Biju Janta Dal), Odhisha

BJD suppored the removal of Article 370 & BJD MP, Prasanna Acharya said in in Rajya Sabha, “In real sense today, Jammu & Kashmir has become a part of India. My party supports this resolution. We are a regional party but for us nation is first.”

He further said, ” we will really compliment Prime Minister Modi when PoK becomes a part of J&K.” He also said that no one bothered about the plight of Kashmiri Pandits all this while, and his party is happy that all Kashmiris will get their due.

AIADMK, Tamilnadu

A. Navaneethakrishnan, AIADMK MP in Rajya Sabha: Amma is well known for upholding sovereignty and integrity. So AIADMK party supports the two resolutions, Reorganisation Bill & the Reservation Bill.



YSCRP Rajysabha MP, V. Vijaysai Reddy said in parliament the we support the removal of Article 370 & Home minister Amit Shah will be remembered in the Indian Parliament history for this bold move.


Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Chandrababu Naidu supports Union Government’s decision to revoke Article 370.

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said, ” We support the govt on its decisions on J & K. We hope this will bring peace and development in the state “

Parties which opposed the removal of Article 370

  1. Congress
  2. SP (Samajwadi Party). Uttar Pradesh
  3. RJD (Rashtriya Janta Dal), Bihar
  4. JDU (Janta Dal United), Bihar
  5. TMC (Trinmool Congress), West Bengal
  6. CPIM (West Bengal)
  7. DMK (TamilNadu)
  8. MDMK (TamilNadu)
  9. CPI ( Communist Party of India
  10. PDP (Mehbooba Mufti, J&K)
  11. NC (National Conference, J&K)
  12. AIUDF ( All India United Democratic Front ), Assam
  13. AIMIM ( All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen )


Congress party opposed the removal of Article 370 in Parliament. Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said in Rajysabha while opposing the removal of Article 370, “Shameful that you have turned J&K into a non entity by making a Lt Governor there, so that you can appoint even a peon or a clerk, sitting here(Delhi).”




JDU leader KC Tyagi said, “Our party is not supporting the Bill moved in the Rajya Sabha today. We have different thinking. We want that Article 370 should not be revoked.”

Facebook Comments Protection Status