Russia Supports India For Permanent Member of UN Security Council

Russia has backed India for permanent membership of United Nation Security Council. Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said in Delhi India and Brazil should become permanent members of the UN Security Council (UNSC).

Speaking at Raisina Dialogue organised by the Ministry of External Affairs and the Observer Research Foundation (ORF) in Delhi, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said on Wednesday, “We believe India and Brazil should be permanent member of UN Security Council. Developing countries should be given adequate representation there.”

On the relationship between India and Russia, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said, “Russia and India signed Strategic Partnership agreement 20 years ago. We believe this partnership between India and Russia will continue in future too.”

Currently United nation Security Council has five permanent members. The Five permanent members are:

  • United States of America (USA)
  • France
  • Russia
  • United Kingdom
  • China
Facebook Comments Protection Status