SHAME: UN elects Venezuela dictator Nicolás Maduro to its “Human Rights Council”

The United Nation General Assembly on Thursday elected Venezuela to its 47 members of UN Human Right Council despite huge opposition from the Human Right activists.

Dictator Nicolás Maduro regime of Venezuela is the one of the world’s worst human rights abusers, to gain a seat on the UN Human Rights Council. It has crushed independent media & legislature and jails & tortures opponents still UN added Venezuela to its “Human Right Council”

Former US ambassador to United Nations Nikki Haley earlier said, “The Human Rights Council is the United Nations’ greatest failure. Instead of protecting human rights, it has long protected the tyrants, dictators and strongmen who abuse them… If Venezuela is elected, the HRC will continue to make a mockery of human rights.”

After Venezuela addition to UN Human Right Council, Nikki Haley said , ” The UN Human Right Council is a total sham.”

UN has also added Mauritania , West African country to its Human Right Council where slavery is still a widespread practice. According to report, There are more than 5 lakh slaves in Mauritania still UN added it to its Human Right Council. Slaveholding Mauritania won 89% of the U.N. votes today to become a world judge of human rights.

Democratic country like Costa Rica was denied to enter in Human Right council while the failed state like Somalia, Libya & Venezuela won the seat in UN Human Right council.

Here is the how the Human Rights Council will look, as of 1 January 2020:

African States

Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Libya, Mauritania, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Togo


Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Marshall Islands, Republic of Korea Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar

Eastern Europe

Armenia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Ukraine

Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina, Bahamas, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

Western Europe and other States

Australia, Austria, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain

Facebook Comments Protection Status